Comfort Dental Founder, Rick Kushner, D.D.S.


Dr. Rick A. Kushner is President, Founder, CEO and CFO of Comfort Dental, the largest and most successful dental franchise in the world. He graduated from Marquette University School of Dentistry in 1977. Kushner has always advocated, taught and pioneered the concept of accessible, fair priced dentistry. Dr. Kushner, has continued to be involved in the School of Dentistry at Marquette, from which he graduated, in 1977. Dr. Kushner credits his relationship with the School of Dentistry’s dean, William Lobb, as a major catalyst for his support of the school. Under Lobb’s leadership over the past 15 years, the school has developed a curriculum that focuses on evidence-based care as well as caring for the whole community.

In 2012, Dr. Kushner presented a $1 million gift to Marquette, to the Building for the Future campaign, which supports the school’s 40,000 square foot expansion. Dr. Kushner’s gift created a fifth clinic within the school, the Comfort Dental clinic, which allows the patient care practice at the school to increase by an additional 24 stations. The gift also served as a challenge to other alumni to contribute to the campaign .“I was the first in my family to go to college,” he said. “As a first generation college student, I want aspiring dentists to have the same support and opportunities I’ve had. At the same time, I hope that I can encourage my fellow alums to contribute to the school’s expansion.”

In 2010, Dr. Kushner established the Comfort Dental/Dr. Rick and Cindy Kushner Scholarship Fund at the Marquette University School of Dentistry, Milwaukee, WI. The fund provides $50,000 annually for a minimum of 10 years. Five scholarships will be given away each year in increments of $10,000 to Marquette dental students. One scholarship will be given to a first-year student, one to a second-year student, one to a third-year student, and two to fourth-year students.

The School of Dentistry honored Dr. Kushner with the Outstanding Dental Service Award in 2009. The award honors outstanding contributions to dentistry either through practice, education or public service.